Topics Map > GBIT Service Desk Services > Windows OS

Forgetting a Wireless Device on Windows 10

This document details how to forget, and reconnect to, a wireless network.


Related KBs:

eduroam - Connecting on Windows 10


***NOTE: If you connected to a network and you don't want it to automatically connect anymore, forgetting it will stop that.***


1. Select the wireless icon on the lower right-hand corner of your screen and select "Network & Internet settings."

Screenshot of Network and Internet Settings



2. Select "Wi-Fi" from the window that pops up

Screenshot of WiFi



3. Select "Manage known networks."

Screenshot of Manage Known Networks



4. To forget the network, do the following:

        1. Select the network you'd like to forget.

        2. Select "Forget."

Screenshot of Forgetting Network


Alternative Method for Forgetting Wireless Networks Using Command Prompt:

***NOTE: You can remove any wireless network profile stored by Windows 10, even if the network is not in range, with the help of Command Prompt.***

1. Search for "Command Prompt" in the Start menu, then right click and select "Run as administrator."

2. Enter the following command: "netsh wlan show profiles."

3. It will display all the wireless network profiles stored by Windows 10. The list can be long if you've used your laptop or tablet for more than a couple of weeks.

4. Identify the name of the wireless network profile you want removed, then enter the following command to remove it: "netsh wlan delete profile name="profile name."

***NOTE: As an example, we wanted to remove a wireless network profile named eduroam, so we entered: "netsh wlan delete profile name="eduroam."***

 

See Also:




Keywords:Wifi, disconnect, disconnecting, guest, UWGB-Guest, remove, forgetting, delete   Doc ID:76593
Owner:Kris C.Group:UW Green Bay
Created:2017-09-15 13:53 CSTUpdated:2022-10-19 16:47 CST
Sites:UW Green Bay
Feedback:  0   0