Topics Map > UWGB Help Desk > Accounts
Student Technology Account
This document explains the student technology account.
All registered students at UW-Green Bay are given a campus network account that they use to access campus technology resources. Students retain their account for one year after the end of their last enrolled semester to facilitate job searching. Nursing and Extended Degree students retain their accounts for two years.
A student’s full Internet email address is firstname.lastname@example.org (i.e. email@example.com)
Students will use their network account for the following.
Log into the Peoplesoft Student Information System, which is used by students to register for classes, add or drop classes, view class schedules, assess degree progress, view grades, print transcripts, and access other academic, personal, and financial information. The SIS system is entirely web-based.
Log into campus Windows and Macintosh computers.
Access their campus email through the Outlook application or Outlook Web Access.
Log into Desire2Learn (D2L), our campus course management software. Students enrolled in Web-based or Web-enhanced courses will have D2L accounts.
Log into the Wisconsin Integrated Software Catalog to purchase software at discounted prices.
Access various Library resources and databases.
- Hosted Microsoft Exchange
- Hosted Active Directory
Users will be notified via email two weeks before their passwords are due to expire, with daily notifications thereafter. In addition, pop-up notifications will appear on
If you attempt to log into a campus Windows
Students may use the UW Campus Password Policy\How To Reset Your Password web page to change their password. Students on campus can also approach the General Access lab consultants and present a picture ID to have their passwords reset. Students who are having difficulty changing their password should call the IT Help Desk at (920) 465-2309 between 8 a.m.
Student Network/Email Account Removal Policy
Once they graduate, students retain their account for one year after their last enrolled semester to facilitate job searching. (Nursing and Extended Degree students will retain their accounts for two years.) Student account purges occur in February and October. Two weeks before their account removal is scheduled, students will receive a warning message that their account will be removed. If the student needs to continue using their account to complete course related activities, they should have a faculty or staff member email the help desk to explain the reason for the account extension and the period of time that the account will be needed. Before accounts are deleted, all files in the account are backed up and can be restored within one year if necessary. Email files are not backed up and cannot be restored if a student requests that their account be reinstated.