Topics Map > UWGB Help Desk > Macintosh
Topics Map > UWGB Help Desk > Handheld Device

Remove AppleID Account and Wipe iPad

AppleID (iCloud) accounts need to be removed from iPads in order for anyone else to use the iPad. Employees need to do this before handing in a campus-owned iPad. The removal process requires the AppleID password, as well as the passcode to unlock the iPad if one is configured. If the AppleID password was forgotten, it can be reset at https://appleid.apple.com/ as long as they have access to the email address used to create it. The wiping procedure will remove all their data including email.

Removing AppleID (iCloud) Account

Determine iOS Version

The process will look different depending on the version of iOS installed on the iPad.  To find iOS version:

1) Open "Settings"
step1

2.1) Tap on "General" on the left
2.2) Tap on "About" on the right
taponabout

3.1) Look for the "Version" in the list on the right.  This is the iOS version.  The first part of the number (9, 10, etc.) is what we care about here.  
iosversion


Remove account in iOS 10 or 11

1) Open Settings

2.1) Tap on the AppleID account in the top left
2.2) Scroll down on the right to the "Sign Out" button
2.3) Tap on the "Sign Out" button
step 2

3.1) Enter the AppleID password.  If the password was forgotten, it can be reset via email or security questions at https://appleid.apple.com/.
3.2) Tap on "Turn Off"
step 3

4.1) Tap all sliders to make them grey
4.2) Tap "Sign Out"
4.3) Tap "Sign Out" to confirm
step4


Remove account in iOS 9

1) Open Settings

2.1) Tap on iCloud on the left side
2.2) Scroll down on the right side
2.3) Tap on "Sign Out"
ios10


Wipe the iPad

**You must first remove the AppleID (iCloud) Account**
Although you can wipe the iPad without removing the AppleID, it will require the AppleID during the setting up new iPad process, which cannot be skipped.  


5.1) In Settings, tap on "General" on the left
5.2) Scroll down on the right to "Reset"
5.3) Tap "Reset"
STEP5

6.1) Tap on "Erase All Content and Settings"
6.2) Tap on "Erase"
step6

7) The iPad will now erase all user data and settings, and reboot.  It takes a few minutes, and it will come up to the Hello screen that starts the Setting up new iPad process.  As long as the AppleID (or iCloud) account had been removed, the iPad is ready to be given to another person.  





Keywords:restore wipe reset delete apple iCloud   Doc ID:75550
Owner:Hunter H.Group:UW Green Bay
Created:2017-08-15 13:31 CSTUpdated:2017-09-13 08:38 CST
Sites:UW Green Bay
Feedback:  0   0